Seasonal Shift

I’m feeling the call of spring long before it shows itself. Where I live, spring doesn’t come until mid-April, at the earliest. My tulips, daffodils, and some daring perennials poke their heads out sooner, but are inevitably smothered in later winter snow. I aways think the snow will kill them, but it hasn’t happened yet. They simply go to sleep, and then awaken with spring’s warmth.

The way I’m feeling spring is not in the typical longing for greener things, but in more of a nesting instinct. I’m lining up tasks, making mental lists. Spring cleaning will begin soon: scrubbing floors, cleaning carpets, filing paperwork, organizing files, dusting, vacuuming, and painting. And writing. I’m actually writing now more than ever. I feel there’s a purpose and it’s not all just self-indulgence. I have a clear view.

But now, I must bake some cookies to send to my daughter in college. It’s mid-term week and she needs sustenance.

Leave a comment