Birthday

Today is my birthday. I came across this piece, “Remember How We Forgot,” by spoken word artist Shane Koyczan earlier this week, and it moved me. His humor about the past and what that means for the future forced me to think about the impact I have and will make in this world.

So many passages resonate with me, but I think this one is the most powerful:

“Let no one say we’ll be undone by time’s passing
The memories we are amassing will stand as testament
That somehow we bend minds around the concept
that we see others within ourselves.
That self-knowledge can be found on bookshelves
So who we are has no bearing on how we appear
Look directly into every mirror
Realize our reflection is the first sentence to a story
And our story starts:
‘We were here.’ ”

Leave a Reply

